SBA Announces Appointment of Wisconsin Small Business Owner to Regional Regulatory Fairnes

CHICAGO – Whitewater, Wisconsin small business owner Alex McQuillen has been appointed to the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Region V Regulatory Fairness Board by SBA Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet.

Regional Regulatory Fairness Boards in all 10 of SBA’s regions represent the voice of small business on regulatory fairness issues. Each board is comprised of five small business owners and serves as a resource and point of contact for small business owners who feel they have experienced excessive federal regulatory enforcement and compliance actions. SBA Region V includes Wisconsin, Minnesota, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio.

Regional Regulatory Fairness Board members advise the National Ombudsman and Assistant Administrator for Regulatory Enforcement Fairness, Brian Castro.  The National Ombudsman and board members host regulatory fairness hearings and outreach events nationwide where small business owners report concerns about burdensome federal regulations.

“As a farmer and small business owner, Mr. McQuillen brings a unique agricultural industry perspective and networks to support the interests of similar small businesses across our country,” Castro said. “The members of the Regulatory Fairness Board play a critical role in making sure the voice of small business is heard by regulators and help to support regulatory solutions that save small business time and money.”

As a Region V Regulatory Fairness Board member, McQuillen will serve as a local resource for small businesses and will work with small business trade groups and other entities to address regional concerns about federal regulatory enforcement and compliance issues.

McQuillen is the owner and operator of McQuillen Farm, Inc., and serves on the board of directors of Sugar Creek Mutual Insurance Company and Ascot Agency, Inc.  McQuillen can be reached by email at or by phone at 608-931-0075.

The Small Business Regulatory Enforcement Fairness Act of 1996 (SBREFA), which created the Office of the National Ombudsman, also created five-member Regulatory Fairness Boards in each of the SBA’s 10 regions.  The members of the Regulatory Fairness Boards represent the small business community to provide insights on immediate regulatory challenges facing small business owners – perspectives that are critical to eliminating ineffective, duplicative, or outmoded regulatory business barriers to small business.  For more information about the Office of the National Ombudsman, visit the website at